Summer Sweets: Julia’s Chocolate Strawberry Cream Cupcakes

After weeks of careful observation my nine-year old daughter approached me. Her eyes were full of questions as I turned to see what was on her curious little mind. She asked me why had I been cooking so many things and why did they all have chocolate? I explained that this is part of my work. I was trying out new ideas and then sharing them with others in hopes that they might enjoy them too. 

“Oh…” she said looking a little puzzled.  “Mommy?… If I come up with a recipe will you make it and write about it?” 

“Sure,” I said a little skeptical, not knowing how this experiment might turn out. ” You need to remember the recipe has to have chocolate in it somewhere.”

“OK!” she squealed as she scurried off to her room. A few moments later she emerged with her face a little downcast this time. “I don’t know how to make a recipe.”

We talked about recipes and the proper way write one. She and I then proceeded to make our way to the bookshelf that houses our cookbooks. With her arms full of cookbooks her eyes danced magically about and a beautiful smile filled her face. That sweet smile could have lit up a dark night sky. She again scurried off to her room. It was an enchanting moment to watch as this sweet young girl embark on her journey of creating something new and exciting.  As I heard the door to her bedroom close I remembered the years of magic that I had so routinely felt as a young child, it left me longing for a little more magic in my oh so grown up life.

Later she came and handed me a beautifully handwritten recipe with detailed instructions on how to make her Strawberry Cream Cupcakes. With a few minor changes we were ready to bake. I hope you enjoy these cupcakes from the creative mind of a nine-year old girl.

Strawberry Cream Cupcakes:

1/2 cup of butter (softened)

1 cup of low-fat milk

1  cup of sugar

1/3 cup of powdered sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp. of vanilla

2 cups of all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp of salt

4 oz. Cocoa Mill’s Bittersweet Chocolate (melted with a 1 Tbsp of butter)

1 qt. fresh strawberries

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream the sugar and the butter, add the eggs and vanilla, mix well. Add the milk and mix again. Scrape the edges of the bowl. Add the dry ingredients and mix well. Scrape sides of bowl again.

Melt the butter and chocolate over low heat, add to the cake batter and mix thoroughly.

Line two muffin tins with cupcake holders. Fill liners about 3/4 of the way full. Place in the oven and bake for about 14 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool completely before frosting.

Cream frosting:

1 stick of butter

1 box of confectioners sugar

heavy whipping cream

2 tsp. of vanilla

Cream the butter and sugar together, add the vanilla and mix well. While mixing slowly pour in small amounts of heavy whipping cream until frosting is a light fluffy consistency. ( you can add more powdered sugar if you need to thicken it or more cream if you need to thin your frosting.)

Chill in fridge while the cupcakes cool. Frost and enjoy!

 

Picture above was painted by Torrie Smiley. You can find this painting as well as other paintings at: http://torriesmiley.blogspot.com/2012/07/cupcake-002.html

Leave a Reply

